There are three steps within this process. Each step must be successful completed prior to moving onto the next. You must complete all three steps, including the State Officer Certification Examination (SOCE), within eight years of the separation date from your last employment as an officer in Florida. If you exceed this eight-year limit, you must attend a full Basic Recruit Training Academy in order to become certified in Florida again. For details on the entire process, please read the instructions that are part of the Evaluation Application form in Step 1.
You must undergo a Florida Officers Reactivation Evaluation
(This is the only step of the process handled by our office.)
If you apply to us for the evaluation, we will see if you qualify for the program by verifying your inactive Florida certification via the state-wide Automated Training Management System (ATMS). There is a $50.00 non-refundable fee for this evaluation. The evaluation usually takes from a few days to 2 weeks to complete. You start the evaluation by submitting the following application.
If your application is approved, you will receive an exemption (CJSTC 76 Form) allowing you to continue in the process. The exemption will give you one year to complete the next two steps of the process.
Complete the EOT Training
We do not conduct this 2-week training course. You must contact a certified training center, such as the one at SEPSI at St. Petersburg College or another training center approved by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE).
Pass the State Officer Certification Examination (SOCE)
We do not administer the SOCE that is required to complete the EOT process. It is given by the State of Florida on a regular basis around the state. The training center you use for Step 2 will help you schedule the SOCE, or you can learn more about the examination from the FDLE.